Online Drug Class now offers the most comprehensive marijuana educational course available in Alabama. If you were arrested for possession of marijuana in the State of Alabama, we offer several courses developed specifically to meet your needs. Our courses range from 8 to 24 hours of intensive and comprehensive information. Each state has different laws regarding the cultivation and use of marijuana and Alabama is one of the more restrictive states. Continue reading for more information on marijuana policies in Alabama.
In Alabama, possession of marijuana is illegal. This means that the distribution and ingestion of the drug is considered illegal. The Alabama House of Representatives held public hearings on two bills in 2013:
A medical marijuana bill and a bill that would have taxed and regulated marijuana like alcohol. The medical marijuana bill, also known as HB2, was voted down by the House Health Committee. HB550, which would have made marijuana legal for adults 21 and older, was considered, but did not receive a vote.
HB 550, also known as the Alabama Cannabis and Hemp Reform Act of 2013, would have allowed adults 21 and over to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and cultivate 12 plants in a secure space. Marijuana would then be taxed similarly to alcohol, and would have tasked the Alabama Department of Revenue with licensing retail outlets and regulating the cultivation, distribution, and sale of marijuana to adults 21 or older.
If you are caught with marijuana, you could be convicted and punished. It is best not to cultivate marijuana or distribute it, especially to minors. Here is a sample of consequences that could occur as a result of possessing, cultivating, or distributing marijuana. Please note that ANY conviction results in the immediate suspension of your drivers license for 6 months.
Possession of 2.2lbs or less (first conviction) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $6,000 fine.
Possession of 2.2lbs or less (second conviction) is a felony, punishable by 1-10 years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
Cultivation of 2.2lbs or less is a felony, punishable by a minimum sentence of 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
Cultivation of 2.2lbs to 100lbs is a felony, punishable by a minimum sentence of 5 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.
Distributing any amount to a minor is a felony, punishable by 10 years to life in prison.
Distributing any amount (1st offense) is a felony, punishable by 25 years to life in prison, and a $50,000 to $1,000,000 fine.
Alabama marijuana laws are among some of the strictest in the country. Especially, if you are a minor, or selling to one. Be proactive and avoid incarceration by taking our comprehensive online course. We guarantee you will become an Alabama marijuana law expert in no time!
These laws are intended to assist you in further understanding the dangers and consequences of using this drug in Alabama. While other states have different policies regarding the use of marijuana, Alabama remains very conservative.
Online drug class offers this information to present the most up-to-date version of Alabama marijuana laws, however we cannot guarantee their accuracy and encourage you to find a certified attorney to help you with all marijuana-related convictions.