Alaska marijuana laws have historically been relatively lax compared with other states in the US. In 1975, the Alaska Supreme Court held in Raven v. Alaska, that there is a state of constitutional privacy protection for possession of under four ounces of marijuana in your home. In 2004, Ballot Measure 2 received 44.25% of the vote, which demonstrated the widespread support for legalization in Alaska. In 2006, however, the state legislature criminalized possession of less than one ounce of marijuana. 80% of drug arrests in 2010 were for possession of marijuana.
On November 2, 2014 Alaska voters approved of a measure which allows adults to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and cultivate up to 6 plants for personal use only. This initiative takes 90 days to become law. Until then, the use or possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and/or a fine up to $2,000 unless the use occurred in the confines of the offender’s private residence in which case, there is no penalty. This act is protected under the Alaskan constitutional right to privacy.
The state has decriminalized marijuana to some degree within the past few years which usually means no prison time or criminal record for first time offenders. Here are situations you want to avoid:
The possession of 1 - 4 oz is a misdemeanor punishable by 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $1,000.
Possession 4 or more ounces is a felony punishable by 5 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.
Possession with intent to distribute less that 1 oz is a misdemeanor resulting in 1 year incarceration and $10,000 fine. If person intends to distribute 1 oz or more, this is a felony charge resulting in 5 years imprisonment and $50,000 fine.
If you are cited or arrested for the possession of marijuana, onlinedrugclass.com can provide you with the information you need to satisfy your court mandated requirement.
Though marijuana is completely illegal in the State of Alaska, the past few years have seen a major effort to achieve more lenient marijuana reform. By taking our online marijuana education course, you will obtain a better understanding of marijuana's risks and consequences.
By taking our online course, you will learn more about this drug and it's affect on it's users and society in general. Our team of experts have developed these courses to help our customers learn and grow personally as well as comply with Alaska state educational requirements. Best of all, classes are online so you can proceed at your own pace.
|8 Hour (Level 1) Drug Class||$149||Register Now||Register|
|12 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class||$199||Register Now||Register|
|15 Hour Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP)||$229||Register Now||Register|
|16 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class||$249||Register Now||Register|
|20 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class||$299||Register Now||Register|
|24 Hour (Level 3) Drug Class||$319||Register Now||Register|
|Marijuana Education Program||$149||Register Now||Register|
|PC-1000 / DEJ Class||$349||Register Now||Register|
|4 Hour Drug Class||$99||Register Now||Register|
|8 Hour Spanish Drug Class||$149||Register Now||Register|