Illinois Marijuana Laws

Illinois Marijuana Laws

The state of Illinois has been working hard to find a balance between legalizing marijuana for medical purposes but also sending the message that non-medical use remains against the law. In 2013, a pilot program was enacted to allow for the use of marijuana to alleviate symptoms of seriously ill patients. However, after 4 years, legislation or renewal of the program needs to be enacted or the program dissolves.

Marijuana is illegal for recreational use and punishment can occur for possession, cultivation, and distribution. For example:

  • If you are caught with 2.5 grams of marijuana in your possession, it is considered a misdemeanor punishable by 30 days in jail. As the amount (in grams) increases, so do the corresponding penalties.

  • Possession of 2.5 - 10 grams of marijuana is punishable by up to 6 months in prison.

  • Possession of 10 - 30 grams is punishable by a 1 year in jail. For a second or subsequent offense, it is considered a felony, punishable by 1-3 years in jail.

  • Possession of over 5,000 grams is a felony, punishable by 4 - 20 years imprisonment, and $25,000 fine.

  • Selling 2.5 - 10 grams is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in prison.

  • Selling 10 - 30 grams is a felony, punishable by 1 - 3 years in jail and a $25,000 fine.

  • Cultivating or selling over 5,000 grams of marijuana is a felony, punishable by 6 - 30 years, and $200,000 fine.

Under Illinois law, if someone is convicted of an offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence, the judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence (MMS). As a result of the MMS, the judge has no power to reduce or alter the mandatory minimum. However, for first offenses, a judge may consider probation after which the charges are dismissed.

Drug Education

First offenders who have been charged, may be required to take a drug awareness class. If this is your situation, Online Drug Class has put all off our courses online so you can access them quickly and easily. Study from home according to your schedule while receiving a comprehensive education.

How to Start

Starting is easy! Look at the drop down menu below to select the best class for you. Once you register, you will select a user name and password that allows you to log in and out of the course at your convenience. Use this log in code to start working today.

Drug Classes

Class Price
8 Hour (Level 1) Drug Class $149 Register Now Register
12 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class $199 Register Now Register
15 Hour Drug Offender Education Program (DOEP) $229 Register Now Register
16 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class $249 Register Now Register
20 Hour (Level 2) Drug Class $299 Register Now Register
24 Hour (Level 3) Drug Class $319 Register Now Register
Marijuana Education Program $149 Register Now Register
PC-1000 / DEJ Class $349 Register Now Register
4 Hour Drug Class $99 Register Now Register
8 Hour Spanish Drug Class $149 Register Now Register

Illinois Marijuana Laws

Learn the rules regarding marijuana use in Illinois.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.