Michigan Marijuana Laws

Michigan Marijuana Laws

Under current Michigan marijuana laws, possession of marijuana unless you are a registered patient or caregiver and or designated grower. Here are some of the laws and consequences if you are caught in possession of marijuana in the state of Michigan:

  • Simple use of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail and a $100 fine.

  • Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $2,000 fine. However, the cop uses their own discretion to determine "intent to distribute" if they feel the amount is more than personal use.

  • Furthermore, possession in a park is either a felony or a misdemeanor, based on the judge’s discretion, and is punishable by a maximum of 2 years in prison and a maximum fine of $2,000.

  • Cultivation of less than 20 plants is a felony, punishable by 4 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.

  • Cultivation of 20 to 200 plants is a felony, punishable by 7 years in prison and a $500,000 fine, in addition to federal charges if over 100 plants.

  • Cultivation of 200 or more plants is a felony, punishable by 15 years in prison and a $10,000,000 fine, in addition to federal charges.

  • Sale “without remuneration” is considered a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000. The punishments and fines increase as the amount of marijuana increases

  • Distribution of less than 5kg is a felony, punishable by 4 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.

  • Distribution of 5 to 45kg is a felony, punishable by 7 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.

  • Distribution of 45kg or more is a felony, punishable by 15 years in prison and a $10,000,000 fine.

In Michigan, marijuana, hashish, and all marijuana derivatives are punishable in the same manner, since the statutory definition of “marihuana” includes “all parts of the plant Cannabis.”

Introducing Our Comprehensive Course

If you were arrested or cited for possession of marijuana, then our course is perfect for you! Typically first-time offenders are provided with the option to take a drug and alcohol course (such as ours). We offer the best comprehensive educational classes available online. Consider these benefits:

  • Enriching course work – Along with informative course material, videos, self exams, graphs and images are incorporated to highlight important information.

  • Study at your own pace – Our classes are 100% online which means you can start and stop at your convenience. Work independently around your schedule.

  • Satisfaction of court orders – If you need a drug course to satisfy a court order, you are in luck! Our courses were written to satisfy court ordered drug and alcohol classes.

Enroll Today

Look at the drop down menu below and select the course that best meets your needs. Enroll online and select a user name and password. This allows you to access the course whenever you wish. Start your course immediately upon enrollment. It's that easy!

Available Courses:

Michigan Marijuana Laws

Learn the rules regarding marijuana use in Michigan.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.