Mississippi seems to be on the fence about decriminalizing personal amounts of marijuana however, it is currently a crime to possess, cultivate and distribute marijuana. For example:
A first offense for possession of 30 grams or less of marijuana is punishable by a $100-$250 fine only (no jail time but a criminal charge may go on the offenders record). A subsequent conviction can result in 50 to 60 days imprisonment and a fine of up to $350. A third conviction will further result in 5 to 60 days imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $500.
Possession of 30 grams (second offense) or up between 30-250 grams is a felony, punishable by 3 years in prison and a $3,000 fine.
Possession of 250-500 grams is a felony, punishable by 2-8 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.
Possession of 500 grams to 5 kg is a felony, punishable by 6-24 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.
Possession of 5 kg or more is a felony, punishable by 10-30 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.
Possession of 30 grams or less in a motor vehicle (except the trunk) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Regarding the sale of marijuana, or "intent to sell" less than 1 oz. is a felony punishable by up to 3 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $3,000.
The sale of more than 10 lbs. of marijuana is punishable by a maximum sentence of life imprisonment without the chance of parole.
Selling to a minor within 1,500 feet of a school, church, or other designated area is a felony that carries a doubling of the incarceration period and fine.
The State of Mississippi also has a drugged driving law in place, as do many other U.S. states. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a vehicle with any illicit drug or drug metabolite present in their bodily fluids (above a specific threshold).
If you were arrested or cited for possession of marijuana and it is your first offense, you may have the option to take a drug and alcohol awareness class. If so, our courses were professionally written and developed with you in mind. We have put our educational courses online so there is no barrier to access them. Online access allows you to study independently around your busy schedule. There are no long downloads or plug ins. Work anywhere there is access to the internet and from a computer, laptop or mobile device including your cell phone.
Our state mandated material is ideal for satisfying court ordered requirements, however, our classes are helpful for personal use too. Videos, graphs, self tests all highlight the relevant information so you learn and retain it well.
Our classes were written with you in mind.
Chose a class from the drop down menu below and register online. During enrollment, you will select a user name and password that allows you to access your course whenever you are ready. Work at home or at your favorite coffee shop on your laptop or smartphone, it's that easy!