New York Marijuana Laws

New York Marijuana Law

New York has decriminalized marijuana for personal recreational use. They don't have a state run medical program so individuals can determine their reason for using. It is still not advised to get caught with marijuana as you can face civil citations but the punishments are less strict than in other states. Let's look:

  • Possession of 25 grams or less (first offense) is a civil citation punishable by a fine of $100, no criminal charge. A second offense carries a fine of $200. and a third offense (misdemeanor) is punishable by 5 days in jail and/or a $250 fine.

  • Possession of 25 grams - 2 oz is punishable by 3 months and a $500 fine.

  • Possession of 2 - 8 oz is a punishable by 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

  • Possession of 8 to 16 oz (felony) is punishable by 1-4 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. For a second offense, the jail time is a mandatory 3-4 years.

  • Possession of 1 to 10 lbs is punishable by 1-15 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine. For a second offense, it is mandatory to serve at least half of the sentence.

  • Possession of more than 10 lbs is punishable by 1-15 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine. "For a second offense, it is mandatory to serve at least half the sentence.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 2 oz or less with no compensation is punishable by 3 months in jail and/or a $500 fine.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 25 grams or less for compensation is punishable by 1 year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 25 grams - 4 oz is punishable by 1-4 years in prison, and a $5,000 fine. If it is the second felony, there is a 3-4 year prison sentence, with a mandatory half time served.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 4 - 16 oz is punishable by 1-7 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. You can get probation if you have no prior felony on your record.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 1 lb -10 lbs is punishable by 1-15 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine. If a second felony, the offender must serve at least half of the sentence.

  • The distribution or cultivation of 10 lbs or more is punishable by 1-15 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine. If it is a second felony, the offender must serve at least half of the sentence.

  • The sale of any amount to a minor is punishable by 1-7 years in prison and a $5,000 fine, in addition to the other related distribution charges.

  • Possession of ‘dirty’ paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

  • Possession of any amount which is burning or open to public view is a class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 3 months in jail and a $500 fine.

Online Drug Awareness Class

If you've been cited with a marijuana charge, you may be mandated to take a drug awareness course. Our courses are professionally written to offer you the best in online drug education. Not only can you work around your busy schedule in the comfort of your own home, but you can proceed with the course at your own pace. Nothing to download either, just register online and begin....it's that easy!

If you or someone you know is a minor and has recently been arrested for marijuana possession, we recommend signing up for one of our courses soon. Upon registering you will benefit from the courses being:

  • 100 Percent Online
  • Having Instance Access
  • They are Available 24/7
  • Reliable and Friendly Customer Support
  • Free Completion Certificate

To better suit the needs of our students, our classes were designed to meet court, personal, and work requirements. Our courses are easy and convenient to use.You won't find any other online programs that can compare with ours!

Getting Started

Are you ready to learn more about New York's marijuana laws? We know this can be a difficult time. Let us help you get through it.

New York Marijuana Laws

Learn the rules regarding marijuana use in New York.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.