Ohio has decriminalized marijuana for personal use. This means you may face civil charges if caught and criminal charges if possessing, growing, or selling a certain amount. For example, it is illegal to cultivate or possess more than 100 grams. Any possession of less than 5,000 grams may be probation only - it just depends on the judge.
There is no state run medical program so it's important to be careful how much you have if using for medical reasons. Here are common punishments related to marijuana:
Possession of less than 100 grams is a civil citation, punishable by a $100 fine (no criminal charge).
Possession of 100-200 grams is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months to 1 year in jail and a $250 fine.
Possession of 200-1,000 grams is a 5th degree felony, punishable by 6 months to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $2,500.
Possession of 1,000-5,000 grams is a 3rd degree felony, punishable by 1-5 years in prison and/or a fine of $10,000.
The punishments are more severe the more substance you are caught with.
Cultivation of less than 100 grams is a not a criminal offense, and carries a fine of $100.
Cultivation of 100-200 grams is a 4th degree misdemeanor, punishable by 30 days in jail and/or a $250-500 fine.
Cultivation of 200-1,000 grams is a 5th degree felony, punishable by 6 months to 1 year in jail, and a $2,500-5000 fine.
Cultivation of 1,000-20,000 grams is a 3rd degree felony, punishable by 1-5 years in prison, and a $10,000-15,000 fine.
Distribution of 20 grams or less for no compensation is not a crime, and carries only a $100 fine.
Distribution of less than 200 grams is a felony, punishable by 6-18 months in jail and a fine to be determined by the judge.
Distribution of 200-600 grams is a felony, punishable by 1-5 years in prison and a fine to be determined by the judge.
Criminal marijuana convictions typically result in suspension of driving licenses for 6 months to 5 years, depending on the offender’s criminal record. Citations do not count.
Ohio allows conditional release for first time prosecutions. After probation and treatment, charges are usually dropped from the offender’s record.
If you've received a marijuana related citation, the judge may mandate you to take a drug awareness course. Blue Mountain Education prides themselves on their online class format which allows individuals to take a professionally written and developed course, from the comfort of home. The advantage of working online is that you can learn at your own pace and chose the time that's best for you. There are no downloads and the software is easy for ANYONE to use. We make this easy because it's important information we want you to have.
Registration is simple. Select the course you need from the menu below and click on it. Fill out the registration information and once payment is complete, you are ready to begin. Your user name and password allow you to log on and off at will so you can work at times that best fit your schedule. The software will hold your place for you so you return to the same spot you left off. It's that simple.
When you register for one of these classes, you will get the following benefits:
What are you waiting for? You can start learning about Ohio marijuana laws right now! Developed by a team of experts, you will find our online classes to be fun and interactive. If you've been arrested for the possession of marijuana, we will do our best to help you successfully get through this difficult experience.