Marijuana is still illegal in the State of Virginia for recreational and medical purposes. Virginia marijuana laws are strictly enforced and should be taken seriously. If you get caught using, selling, or possessing this illegal substance, you could face a range of consequences. The following factors will influence the judge's ruling: the amount of pot you're found with, your specific intentions (i.e. selling, buying, trafficking, etc.), and any previous record. Harsher penalties are reserved for selling, manufacturing, and trafficking marijuana, including:
Here are some punishments Virginia:
Any marijuana conviction results in the automatic suspension of driving privileges for 6 months and probation with deferred proceedings is possible for first offenders.
Possession of any amount (first offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Subsequent offenses are punishable by up to a year in jail and $2,500 fine.
Cultivation of any amount is a felony, punishable by 5-30 years in prison, with a $10,000 fine.
Distribution of less than .5 oz is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in prison and a $2,500 fine. Selling or distributing .5 oz - 5 lbs is a felony, punishable by 1-10 years in prison and $2,500 fine. Selling 5 lbs - 100 kg is a felony, punishable by 5-30 years in prison and a $2,500 fine. Distribution of more than 100 kg is a felony, punishable by a mandatory sentence of 20 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.
Distribution to a minor is a felony, punishable by 10-50 years in prison, and a $100,000 fine. Dealing marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school or other specified area is a felony, punishable by 1-5 years in prison and a $100,000 fine, in addition to related charges.
Transporting 5 lbs or more into the state with intent to distribute is a felony, punishable by 5-40 years in prison, 3 years of which is mandatory, and a $1,000,000 fine.
If you've received a marijuana charge not only may your license be suspended but you may be eligible for an alternative diversion program or drug education class. If this is the case, Blue Mountain Education is here to provide you with the best learning experience possible and the ability to learn from home. We've put our drug awareness courses online so there are no barriers to accessing this important information. It is especially beneficial for individuals whose licenses have been suspended or learns better independently.
Anyone with access to the Internet can take our courses. Start and stop when you like and work around your schedule.
To enroll, select a course from those listed in the drop down menu below, then click on the one you want. Now, complete the registration process and begin your course instantly. It's that easy!
When you register for one of our classes, you will experience the following benefits:
Are you ready to learn about Virginia marijuana laws? If you've recently been caught with marijuana, let us help you get through this difficult time.