Colorado smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco or tobacco products. COLO. REV. STAT. ANN. § 18-13-121
It is illegal for minors in the state of Colorado (people under 18 years of age) to purchase tobacco products including cigarettes, cigars, and chewing tobacco.
It is illegal for a retailer to sell tobacco to a minor.
If a minor purchases a tobacco product, it is a class 2 petty offense.
If caught, the minor faces a $100 fine, or community service. The person who sold the tobacco to the minor has committed a class 2 petty offense as well, and will have to pay a $200 fine if convicted.
NOTE: If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.
Have you been required by the court to attend a tobacco awareness course? If so, our youth tobacco awareness classes are readily available to you. Comprehensive and informative, our 4 and 8 hour courses were developed by experts to be user-friendly and 100% online so you can access them easily. No hassles here. Enroll from a smartphone or any web browser and start your class instantly.
When you’ve finished enrolling for your Youth Tobacco Awareness/Cessation class, you can pay using a variety of payment methods, including, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. You may pay by phone or online.
The price of each course depends on the length of the program:
Both classes include free enrollment processing and a Certificate of Completion.
Once you’ve completed the registration, you will be directed to choose a username and password for your Colorado Youth Tobacco/Cessation class. Please be sure to keep your personal information handy as it will allow you to access your class quickly.
Yes. Our Youth Tobacco/Cessation classes are completed entirely online, which allows you to access them on your mobile device, computer, or laptop. There are not restrictions to how many devices you may use to access your course. All you need is your username and password, and you may access the class whenever you want.
Once you’ve passed our Youth Tobacco Awareness/Cessation class, we will provide you with your free Certificate of Completion (which you may receive faster for an extra fee). Remember, it is your responsibility to provide the Certificate of Completion to you court.
This all depends on the type of class you enroll in. The time needed to finish the course is specified in the title; we offer 4-hour and 8-hour Youth Tobacco/Cessation courses.
To pass the Youth Tobacco Awareness/Cessation courses, you need to attain a score of 80% or higher on the course's final exam. One of the great qualities of our courses is that you may take the exam as many times as you like in order to pass. With in-person cessation classes, you can't enjoy such benefits.