E-cigarettes are getting a lot of press these days especially because they are so attractive to youth. Florida, along with some other states - is introducing legislation to ban these tobacco products from anyone under 18.
According to Reuters, it is illegal for minors to buy tobacco cigarettes, cigars or pipe tobacco but a new law, which takes effect on July 1, prohibits the sale of electronic smoking devices (e-cigarettes), to minors as well.
First-time offenders will incur a $25 civil fine, or 16 hours of community service. Anyone under the age of 18 who is caught three times is at risk for losing their drivers license.
Florida smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to knowingly possess or misrepresent their age to obtain tobacco or tobacco products. FLA. STAT. ch. 569.11
In Florida, there are penalties in place for minors who use tobacco products. For a first offense, a minimum fine of $25 is imposed. Additionally, minors are required to complete 16 hours of community service as part of their penalty. They may also be required to enroll in a tobacco awareness program to enhance their understanding of the risks associated with tobacco use.
For a second offense, the minimum fine remains at $25. Repeat offenders, specifically for a third offense and subsequent violations, face the possibility of having their driver's license suspended or revoked. This emphasizes the seriousness of repeated violations and aims to discourage minors from continuing to use tobacco products.
These penalties are implemented to deter minors from using tobacco products, promote education about the risks involved, and ensure compliance with the law. It is important for minors to prioritize their health and well-being by refraining from tobacco use and abiding by these regulations to avoid legal consequences.
If you received a possession of tobacco citation in Florida, you may be required to take a tobacco awareness course. If so, then our 4 or 8 our tobacco awareness class is ideal for you.
Our courses are offered online so you can get the education you need from the convenience of and comfort of home. There is no need to wait, you can enroll from your smartphone, tablet, or computer and start working instantly. What are you waiting for? Enroll today!
NOTE: If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.
|4 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$99||Register Now||Register|
|8 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$179||Register Now||Register|
When it comes time to pay for your Tobacco Awareness/Cessation class, we accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. You have the option of paying by phone or online.
The cost of each course depends on the program duration:
As an added bonus, both courses include free enrollment processing and a free Certificate of Completion.
Once you’ve finished registering, you will be asked to select a unique username and password for your Florida Awareness/Cessation course. Please be sure to keep this information in a safe place as you will need it to access your class.
Yes. Our Tobacco Awareness/Cessation courses are completed entirely online, which allows you to access them across multiple devices. All you need is your username and password, and you’re instantly connected to your course!
Once you’ve finished and passed your Tobacco Awareness/Cessation class, we will provide you with your free Certificate of Completion. It is important to remember that it is your responsibility to present this certificate to the court.
This depends on the type of course you have enrolled in. The necessary time needed to complete the course is indicated in the name; we offer 4-hour and 8-hour Youth Tobacco/Cessation courses.
To successfully pass the Tobacco Awareness/Cessation class, you must complete the final exam with a score of 80 percent or higher. If for any reason you do not pass the exam on the first attempt, you may retake it as many times as you need – this is the great advantage of our online Tobacco Awareness/Cessation courses.