Ohio Smoking Laws

Ohio has banned the purchasing or possessing these cigarette alternatives, but this law came as a reaction to the alarming rate at which e-cigarettes are growing among younger users. The Center for Disease Control reported that use of vaporized cigarettes doubled between middle and high school students between 2011 and 2012. Statistics also show that many of these students have already used regular cigarettes. Here are the laws for regular tobacco use:

The Law

Ohio smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to use, consume, purchase, attempt to purchase, or possess cigarettes; or, pay for, order, or share the cost of, accept or receive tobacco or tobacco products. It is also unlawful for a minor to falsify his or her age to obtain cigarettes. The exception of this law is if the minor is accompanied by a legal guardian or parent. OHIO REV. CODE ANN. § 2151.87

The Penalties

Fines

  • Not more than $100, though the fine may increase if the minor disobeys court orders.

Tobacco Education

  • May be required to complete a tobacco education program.

Community Service

  • If a minor disobeys a court order, he or she may be required to complete 20 hours of community service.

Impact on Driver’s License

  • Court may suspend temporary instruction driver’s permit, probationary driver’s license, or driver’s license for 30 days.

The Solution

Have you been given a minor in possession of tobacco citation? If so, are you required to take a course? Onlinedrugclass.com developed their youth tobacco awareness class with you in mine.

The courses are conveniently available online so they are easy to access and complete on your own time. Register today and start your class immediately.

If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.

What payment options are available?

For your convenience, we accept payments by phone or our secure SSL encrypted online payment-processing service. Please feel free to pay by e-checks or a major credit card, such as Visa or MasterCard.

Exactly how much do the Tobacco classes cost?

Our classes are incredibly affordable! See below:

  • 4-Hour Tobacco Awareness Class – $99.00
  • 8-Hour Advanced Tobacco Awareness Class – $179.00

All courses include free enrollment processing and free certificate shipping.

How do I access the course?

Once you complete the enrollment process, you will be granted instant access to our online course. You can then complete the course at your own leisure, from the comfort of your own home.

Am I allowed to take a break and change computers at any time?

Yes. Our online course has been designed around your needs; please feel free to take breaks. In fact, we encourage it!

How will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

All of our online courses include free shipping on Certificates of Completion. Typically, shipping is completed within one business week from the time you complete the program.

How long does it take to complete the Tobacco class?

Ultimately, you set your own pace. However, you should expect to commit at least as many hours as the program calls for.

I did not pass the final exam. Now what?

We allow you to retake the final exam as many times as needed. If you don’t pass the exam on your first try, don’t worry – simply retake it!

Ohio Tobacco Laws

Learn the rules regarding tobacco use in Ohio.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.