Pennsylvania Smoking Laws

E-Cigarettes

Pennsylvania has taken an assertive and cautious stance against the use of electronic cigarettes. While many states are awaiting FDA approval or disapproval, in April 2014, Mayor Nutter signed bills banning the sale of e-cigarettes and similar devices to minors and limiting their use in most indoor public spaces.

Tobacco Law

Pennsylvania smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to purchase or attempts to purchase tobacco products, or his or her age to obtain tobacco or tobacco products. This does not apply to minors participating in a state-certified study of tobacco product. 18 PA. CONS. STAT. § 6305

The Penalties

Fines

  • No more than $200

NOTE: If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.

Tobacco Education

  • Complete a tobacco education and cessation program

Community Service

  • Complete up to 75 hours of community service

Impact on Driver’s License

  • May have their driver’s license suspended for 30-days

The Solution

If you've received a citation for tobacco, you may need to take an education awareness class. If so, our youth tobacco awareness/cessation class was developed with you in mind. We've made our classes 100% online so you can access them at your convenience. You can log on and off from any computer or mobile device and work at your own pace. Register online today, and start your class now!

What payment options are accepted?

We accept e-checks and all major credit cards at ODC. For your convenience, you can submit payment over the phone or via our encrypted SSL online payment-processing service!

Exactly how much do the Tobacco classes cost?

The individual class costs can be found below:

  • 4-Hour Tobacco Awareness Class – $99.00
  • 8-Hour Advanced Tobacco Awareness Class – $179.00

All courses include free enrollment processing and free certificate shipping.

How do I complete the course?

All of our courses are completed online – our tobacco awareness class is no different! Once you complete the enrollment process, you will be granted immediate access. There are no downloads; no printing our forms – just instant access to our course.

Am I allowed to take breaks or change computers?

Yes. We encourage you to take breaks and welcome you to access our course across a variety of different devices.

How will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

Once you complete the online program, we will mail you your Certificate of Completion. Typically, delivery takes up to seven business days.

How long does it take to complete the Tobacco class?

Which class have you enrolled in? You should expect to commit at least as many hours as is indicated on the course you have registered for.

I failed the final exam! Now what?

First thing’s first, don’t panic! Why? Well, because you can retake the final exam as many times as is needed. We want you to pass, so we give you as many chances as possible.

Pennsylvania Tobacco Laws

Learn the rules regarding tobacco use in Pennsylvania.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.