On June 19, 2014, the Rhode Island General Assembly approved legislation to prohibit the sale of e-cigarettes to minors and require all sellers and distributors of e-cigarettes in Rhode Island to obtain a license. Former bills were rejected because they were heavily sponsored by large tobacco firms and the language would have kept e-cigarettes in a separate category as tobacco. Here are the regular tobacco laws:
Rhode Island smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to purchase, use, possess cigarettes, bidi cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff, tobacco or tobacco products; possession law is included in streets, public places or resorts. R.I. GEN. LAWS § 11-9-13 and R.I. GEN. LAWS § 11-9-14
If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.
If you've received a minor in possession of tobacco citation, you may be required to take an educational course. If so, our 4 or 8 hour youth tobacco awareness course is what you need.
It is comprehensive and informative, covering a range of topics, including the history of tobacco, the anti-smoking movement, and nicotine’s effects on the brain and body. Best of all, it is 100% online which means you can work around your own schedule without ever having to leave home. Enroll, today!
|4 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$99||Register Now||Register|
|8 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$179||Register Now||Register|
E-checks and all major credit cards are accepted at ODC. If you are paying for your class, you can do so over the phone or via our encrypted SSL online payment-processing service!
Please see the prices for our tobacco awareness class below:
All courses include free enrollment processing and free certificate shipping.
Completing our tobacco awareness class is simple. Enroll, complete the course online, and receive your Certificate of Completion in the mail. It’s that easy!
Yes. Please feel free to take as many breaks as you would like. Ultimately, you set the pace so you can log in and out as often as needed.
Your Certificate of Completion will arrive in the mail, typically within seven business days of completing the course.
This will depend on a number of factors, including your pace and the class that you have enrolled in. If you are enrolled in the 4-hour class, please expect to spend at least four hours.
No worries! You can retake the final test as many times as needed. To pass the final test, simply answer 80 percent or more of the questions correctly.