South Dakota Smoking Laws

E-Cigarettes in South Dakota have exploded onto the market. The state passed a law banning the sales of "e-cigs" to minors but are more lenient than many other states. The residents seem pleased with these reasonable but not overly controlling measures. Here are laws for traditional tobacco products:

The Law

South Dakota smoking law states that it is unlawful for any person under the age of 18 to purchase, attempt to purchase, receive, or attempt to receive tobacco or tobacco products. S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-2 & 34-46-5

A minor attempting to purchase, possess or consume a tobacco product on a merchant’s establishments may be detained, in a reasonable manner and amount of time, and surrendered to a law enforcement officer. The merchant must post this notice on his or her premises if he or she chooses to exercise this law. S.D. CODIFIED LAWS §§ 34-46-2.1 & 34-46-2.2

The Penalties

Fine

  • Up to $200

Imprisonment

  • Up to 30 days in jail

The Solution

If you've been granted the ability to take a tobacco awareness course, then onlinedrugclass.com offers the most convenient and professional option. Our youth tobacco awareness classes cover a variety of topics, including the negative health effects of tobacco use, a description of tobacco products, and how tobacco companies have targeted youth, women and other non-smokers. Not only is our course comprehensive, it is also available 100% online for your convenience. You can go at your own pace and study when it's best for you. Register online today, and start your class instantly.

If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.

What payment options are accepted?

E-checks and major credit cards are accepted at Online Drug Class. Payments can be submitted by phone or online.

Exactly how much do the Tobacco classes cost?

Our course prices are:

  • 4-Hour Tobacco Awareness Class – $99.00
  • 8-Hour Advanced Tobacco Awareness Class – $179.00

All courses include free enrollment processing and free certificate shipping.

How do I complete the course?

Once you enroll in the course that is right for you, we will grant you with instant access to the course materials. You can get started immediately – our classes are completed entirely online.

Am I allowed to take breaks or change computers?

Absolutely! We encourage you to take breaks whenever you are feeling tired, as we want you to retain the information contained within our classes.

How will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

We will mail you your Certificate of Completion at no cost. Typically, certificates arrive within seven business days after completing the program.

How long does it take to finish the course?

The amount of time that it takes to complete the course differs for every person. Please expect to set aside at least as many hours as indicated on the class you’ve enrolled in.

I failed the final exam! Now what do I do?

Don’t worry. We allow you to retake the final exam as many times as needed. To pass the final test, you will need to obtain a score of 80 percent or higher.

South Dakota Tobacco Laws

Learn the rules regarding tobacco use in South Dakota.

Trusted and Secure

Your registration will be processed using our secure PCI Compliant credit card service.