Washington banned the possession and sales of e-cigarettes to minors but online availability still makes it difficult to enforce. Marketing e-cigarettes also remains largely unregulated. Many states are waiting for FDA statements and laws regarding these new cigarette alternatives. Below are the tobacco laws for Washington State:
In the state of Washington, individuals under the age of 18 are prohibited by law, specifically WASH. REV. CODE § 70.155.080, from purchasing, attempting to purchase, possessing, or acquiring tobacco or tobacco products. Violations of this law carry certain penalties. Firstly, individuals may be subject to a fine not exceeding $50. In addition to the fine, they may be required to participate in a smoking cessation program, which aims to raise awareness and support their efforts to quit smoking. Furthermore, as part of the penalty, individuals might also be mandated to complete 4 hours of community service. This requirement promotes a sense of responsibility and encourages them to contribute to their community. The objective of these penalties is to discourage underage tobacco use, while also emphasizing the importance of education and community engagement in addressing this issue effectively.
If you need a minor in possession of tobacco class our 4 or 8 hour tobacco awareness classes are a great option. These courses deliver professionally written content at your availability. Start and stop the course whenever you want, it's completely up to you. Take advantage of this great resource by registering today and starting your program right now!
If you choose not to pay the fine, you may attend a court hearing to challenge the citation.
|4 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$99||Register Now||Register|
|8 Hour Tobacco Awareness Class||$179||Register Now||Register|
Acceptable payments include e-check and major credit cards, such as Visa and MasterCard. You can submit your payment online with our encrypted SSL payment-processing system or via telephone.
See the course prices below:
All courses include free enrollment processing and free certificate shipping.
Once you complete the enrollment process, you will be granted instant access to our online course. You can then complete it at your own leisure.
Yes. Please take as many breaks as you need. For your convenience, you can also access our program from computers, laptops, tablets, and other mobile devices.
Upon completion of the course, we will mail you your certificate at no cost.
The amount of time that it takes you to complete your tobacco awareness class will depend primarily on the course that you are enrolled in. If you are enrolled in the 4-hour program, expect to spend at least 4 hours.
There is no need to worry if you fail the final exam, as we allow you to retake it as many times as needed. To pass the final test, simply complete the exam with a score of 80 percent or higher.